Navigate Up
Sign In

Health Inspectorate Services: Burials


This section is responsible for the administration and management of Santa Marija Cemetery at Madonna tar-Rummiena Street in Xewkija, Gozo, and the application of various laws and regulations related to interments.  This involves the administration and management of personnel, the general upkeep of cemeteries, proposed extension of cemetery and construction of new additional graves and research work to establish burial and grave ownership rights.


Burials of the deceased in either private or government graves.  


The burial can take place after the family of the dead engages an undertaker who follows a process. He will collect the death certificate issued by the doctor certifying the death from the police station, from where a burial permit is issued. The said undertaker contacts the relevant cemetery to register the death and establishes where burial is to take place, either in a private grave or a government grave.     



Required Documents

A burial permit (from the Police) as detailed in the information on this service, and also an application form is to be filled if burial is to take place in a private grave. The form can be downloaded from here.​    


No fees or charges.  

Service available at

Santa Marija Cemetery in Xewkija and other public cemeteries in Gozo and in Malta.   

Contact Information

Contact Person:                Joseph Borg  

Postal address:                 Health Inspectorate Services 

            Burials Administration Section
            St. Francis Square

Victoria VCT 1335


Telephone numbers:         22156500 / 22156400 

Opening hours:                 07.00 – 15.00


Contact Person:                  Anthony Sacco (Supervisor)

Postal address:                    Santa Marija Cemetery

                                              Triq il-Madonna tar-Rummiena



Telephone Numbers:           21556432

Opening hours:                    06.30  hrs – 19.10 hrs  (Mondays to Saturdays)

                                              08.00  hrs–  17.00 hrs  (Sundays and Public Holidays)